Cheap flights from French Polynesia

French Polynesia is an overseas French collectivity located in the south Pacific region, composed of 118 geographically dispersed islands and atolls stretching over an expanse of more than 2,000 kilometers. The French took over the islands in 1842 and established a French protectorate called the EFO or the French Establishments and Settlements in Oceania.

In 1946, the EFOs became an overseas territory, under the constitution of the French Fourth Republic, and Polynesians are granted the right to vote through citizenship. In 1957, the EFOs were formally renamed French Polynesia, and up until today has been called as such.

French Polynesia is divided into five groups of islands: The Society Islands is composed of the Windward and the Leeward Islands, the Tuamotu Archipelago, the Gambier Islands, the Marquesas Islands, and the Austral Islands. Among its 118 islands and atolls, 67 are inhabited. Tahiti, which is located in the first group of islands Society, is the most populous island and the seat of the capital of the collectivity, Pape'ete.

Tahiti – Tahiti is the largest island in the Windward group of French Polynesia. It is located in the archipelago of the Society Islands in the central Southern Pacific Ocean, and is divided into two parts: The bigger north-western part of Tahiti Nui and the smaller, south-eastern part of Tahiti Iti. Tahiti is the economic, cultural, and political center of French Polynesia, with the capital Pape'ete located on its northwest coast. Tahiti mainly relies on its tourism industry, with beach resorts and local culture being the primary selling points. When in Tahiti, bask in the sea, the sand, and the sun that is uniquely Pacific, do some Tahitian dancing complete with grass skirts, and eat some of the freshest seafoods available.

Bora Bora - Bora Bora is an island located on the Society group of islands in French Polynesia, an overseas collectivity of France. It is located 230 kilometers northwest of Pape'ete, and is surrounded by a lagoon and a barrier reef. At its center lies the remnants of an extinct volcano that rises into two peaks: Mount Pahia and Mount Otemanu. Bora Bora is a world-famous tourism destination that draws in many a tourist not only from the Oceanic region but also from around the globe. Its aqua-centric luxury resorts and its major settlement Vaitape are just some of its attractions, along with the vast Pacific waters that hug the islands.

Honolulu (Hawaii, United States) – Honolulu is the state capital and the most populous city in the U.S. State of Hawaii. It is the westernmost and the southernmost major American city, and is a favorite tourist destination in the country due to its many beaches. Honolulu is considered a Pacific island. However, it is very much part of the United States. When in Honolulu and apart from the beaches, travelers are suggested to go to the Bishop Museum, the largest of Honolulu's museums, the Waikiki Beach and Waikiki Aquarium, the Ala Moana Center, and the Aloha Tower.

From the collectivity of French Polynesia, travelers may go to certain long-haul destinations through the sole airport of the country, the Fa'a'ā International Airport. The Fa'a'ā International Airport has flights to Los Angeles in the United States, which is one of the favorite destinations in the country, and to Tokyo, an East Asian destination known for its upbeat and colorful culture, and rich history. Whichever destination one may choose, travelers will surely enjoy it.

How to get out

The only way to get out of the country by air is through its lone international airport, the Fa'a'ā International Airport. The Fa'a'ā International Airport International Airport is located on the island of Tahiti, some five kilometres west and southwest of the town centre of Pape'ete. Airlines that serve the airport include Air France, Air New Zealand, Air Tahiti, Air Tahiti Nui, Aircalin, Hawaiian Airlines, and LAN Airlines.

Prices shown on this page are estimated lowest prices only. Found in the last 45 days.